h1

Blessings

July 20, 2010

“Life is pain, Highness. Anyone who says differently is selling something.” is a quote from the movie The Princess Bride.  Life is hard and dotted with painful circumstances, but we have a loving God.

I know it’s been more than a year since I’ve popped my head in over here. Lots going on, lots of growing and weeding, lots of tending in our lives.  Often I find it hard to express in words just what God is doing in our lives. But for some reason, I got the urge to write down some words this morning.

Last year in our Bible study we worked our way through the book of Revelation. It was NOT my first choice, but since it is in the Bible, you know, I ought to give it some time for study as well.  The middle of Revelation really bogged me down with all it’s symbolism, death, and destruction. It was depressing and frustrating.  Many times throughout the book, God says, “Blessed is the one who reads the words of this prophecy, and blessed are those who hear it and take to heart what is written in it, because the time is near.” I kept praying that somewhere along the way I would discover the blessing.

I’m still not certain what the specific blessing might be. But I suspect that it might be as simple as this… The blessing that comes from reading Revelation is not about understanding who is the white horse, or what does that plague mean, or are we going to be raptured before, during or after the tribulation.  The blessing comes from knowing that even though one day God will judge the sins of the wicked, he desires that ALL will find forgiveness of their sins.  That he loves everyone of us. That he is a God of details. And that he is completely in control. He has not forgotten about his people, the people that he has created for his good pleasure.  But he desires us all to come to him, to trust in him, and find joy in him. If we keep that in mind throughout our life, we will discover the blessing.  Trials and tribulations will not take us by surprise when we know that God is right beside us and that he has all the details under control.  If he can orchestrate white horses and plagues and judgments all the while still desiring men to find him, then he can take care of the details of our lives.

Life often tries to suck the life out of me.  The disappointments, the struggles, the physical ailments.  But there is a God who is bigger than all of that.  I know I have said before that Hebrews 12:2 is sort of “my” verse. It’s the one that most often speaks to me when I am having a hard time.  I just need to “fix my eyes on Jesus” so that I will not grow weary and lose heart.

May you find a blessing in your day today.

2 comments

  1. What a blessing to know that our God is sovereign and all things work together ultimately for our good and His glory! May you find rest in His sovereign goodness today.

    P.S. I was glad to “see” you in my reader!


    • Thanks Lisa! Wowser, the year is buzzing by!

      We are reading Romans right now. I really should try and get back into posting mode… Things are good. Better than last year. There has been some growing going on.

      Anita



Leave a Reply

