h1

Wisdom from Above

July 22, 2011

I know it has been SO-O-O-O long since I have posted anything here.  And there probably isn’t anyone around anymore to listen.  But that’s OK.

A friend and I were talking the other day about what I have been learning in our Bible study in James. So, here you go. This is what has been on my mind lately.

Wisdom. What exactly is wisdom? Solomon asked for more. The world thinks it’s about making good decisions that help you get ahead. And we, as Christians, see it as seeking to know how to make the right decision.  The decision that keeps us out of trouble.

But it never occurred to me that true, Godly wisdom could be anything else until I was reading Chapter 3 in the book of James.

James asks “Who is wise and understanding among you?” I’m sure you, as I did, immediately thought of someone who seems to have it all together, who owns a nice home or drives a nice car. Someone who is well thought of in church or at work.  While all of these attributes are nice, I suddenly realized that this isn’t necessarily true, heavenly wisdom from above.

Verses 17-18 are what really made me think twice about what wisdom really is.

“But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy. Now the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.”

Suddenly it dawned on me that wisdom isn’t just about making the “right” decision. In fact, it’s not really about making decisions at all. At least not in the everyday, living life, sense of decision-making.  But it is everything about making spiritual decisions. Decisions to love God, live in such a way that pleases him, giving our hearts wholly to him…  which does effect our daily living decisions. But the daily living decisions aren’t the goal or purpose for having or acquiring wisdom.

The real reason for seeking wisdom is to glorify God… for people to turn their hearts to Jesus… so that the “fruit of righteousness” may be sown and multiply. Wisdom is about showing God’s love and mercy to those who are seeking.  It’s about being obedient in our hearts to what God is asking us to do. It’s about giving up our own desires or dreams to live a comfortable life in order that we might point the way for others to find God’s grace and mercy in their own lives.

Do you see what I am getting at?

How different wisdom looks from this perspective! Suddenly I don’t have to be afraid to decide which job to work, or which house to buy, or which city to live in. Because I can live wisely in any job, in any house, in any city if my living is pleasing to God and pointing others toward him and his desire to forgive their sins and spend eternity with him.

God says perfect love casts out all fear. And his perfect love is full of perfect wisdom which takes away my fear of living in this imperfect world.  May He fill me with the wisdom that is first pure, then peaceable, gently & willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits!

2 comments

  1. How surprised I was when your post show up in my reader! Good to “see” you! It’s been awhile!


    • Surprise! I do sorta remember my blog address. 😛 I just don’t get over there very often.

      Anita



Leave a Reply

