h1

Living as part of a Royal family

April 30, 2013

Having just finished our Bible study on Ephesians, I’ve been pondering the verse, “I, therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you to walk worthy of the calling with which you were called,”  — Ephesians 4:1

Often, I like to look up the Greek definitions of words to try and gain a more full understanding of what is being said. If I were to paraphrase that verse it would say something like, “conduct one’s self in a suitable manner according to the divine invitation of which you were called”.

This whole concept of living or walking according to the fact that God has called us to be a part of His family led my imagination down the road to the Chronicles of Narnia stories.  I’m sure you are all familiar with the four Pevensie children who became the kings & queens of Narnia.  I love those stories!

And that led me to thinking about how future kings & queens of history were taught & trained as children for their future roals in governing over their kingdoms. They were taught grace & poise, strength & honor.  At least the good kings & queens.  I found an article on the Internet that said 16th century education for British kings & queens was regarded as extremely important and concentrated on balance and breadth between physical development, such as dancing, archery, hunting, and intellectual and moral education. A well-rounded personality was the aim. Thus many were taught Latin, Greek, Italian, French and the corresponding literature of those languages.  Being ready to take the throne and govern their country was serious business.

In Revelation 19, Jesus is called the King of Kings and Lord of Lords.  We know from the Bible that Jesus will reign over all of heaven and earth. And He has called us to be joint heirs with Him in heaven.  That makes us part of His royal family.

When I think about God adopting us as part of his royal family, it makes me stop & think about all that education that was given to royal heirs in history. They were expected to act as royalty. They were expected to behave in a manner that was fitting for their station in life.  And then I wonder in humility that I am not living in a manner that is fitting for an heir of God.  More often, I am living as an impoverished, uneducated commoner.  Where is my grace & my dignity?  Where is the Fruit of the Spirit?

It’s hard to wrap my head around that notion that we are called to be heirs of God’s kingdom.  the Bible is our text book and the Holy Spirit is our teacher, teaching us how to act & behave as heirs of a king.  Maybe if I applied that understanding to my life more often my actions & my conduct would be different.

Therefore, let us walk worthy of the privilege to be called an heir of God’s family, and joint heirs with Christ. — Romans 8:17

Leave a Reply

